Blood Drama Half-mark Review: Expectations and Missteps

blood-kdrama-salute

Music world has Beliebers and Directioners.

Kdrama world has Healerites and more recently, Bloodmates.

Blood the k-drama has reached its 10 episode mark and I’ve been following the drama all the way. So yes I’m officially a Bloodmate.

Does that mean I’m 100 per cent happy with the drama? Maybe not. As a drama about day-walking vampires working in the medical field does it have its winning moments? Yes, massively yes.

Watching Blood has opened my eyes to a lot of issues that can bog down a drama that has everything: great premise, awesome ensemble cast, cool OST and just an overall edgy vibe? On the surface and possibly on paper Blood could be the perfect drama.

blood-cast

In reality it still has a long way to go and thankfully there are 10 more episodes to try and turn things from so-so to hell-yeah.

One thing I like about Blood is how it seems to just not care. Like, “I’m this crazy drama with a plot going sideways and I’ve got all this great material to work with but I’d rather just let it figure itself out.” Exactly. This is what the drama seems to be telling you and it’s like asking you to shove it or love it.

Breakthrough in vampire science - purely distilled human blood

Breakthrough in vampire science – purely distilled human blood

But I do love the drama and just wish for it to get past itself and just shine. Because it has such potential (and yeah even at its half-way mark a drama still has room to grow and excel).

I want very much for Blood to succeed mostly because so many naysayers believe that it can’t/won’t. And because I’m a Ku Hye Sun fan and I don’t like how her acting is getting slammed. My worry is that she’s having to work with a relatively “new” actor co-star Ahn Jae-Hyun who’s also never had a lead role before.

Ku Hye Sun has also been in Angel Eyes and Boys over Flowers

Ku Hye Sun has also been in Angel Eyes and Boys over Flowers

 

And yet both Ku Hye sun and her co-star have such great personal charisma. Now if they can simply merge and let it flow as one then there’ll be magic. I’ll definitely keep watching to find out. I just might be in for a nice surprise.

blood-vampires

2 thoughts on “Blood Drama Half-mark Review: Expectations and Missteps

  1. I’m a Bloodmate as well, and one of the reasons I watched the drama was for Ku Hye Sun- she might not be among my top 4 fav actresses, but I really like her, and I’ll be rooting for this drama.
    And by the way, drinking distilled human blood like scotch complete with the glass and the ice was funny to me. I guess it can only happen in Blood. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You so got the light sarcasm I was going for. I mean drinking blood is what makes us view them as vampires. Now they just seem “infected” (I really hate that word now heehe) Finely filtered corpuscles on ice…yeah, soo wrong. So darn wrong 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

