September 2015: Top 3 Dramas I’m Watching

If you’re picky (like me) when it comes to ongoing dramas, you’ll understand why sometimes the best things come in three’s.

The last few months in Kdrama have been crazy! Fabulous leads, gripping plots, striking scenarios. Plus smoking romance and action! It would be greedy to want more but yes, we know we do.

September doesn’t disappoint in terms of mesmerising leading actors. Top on my list is Joo Won who’s killing it – excuse the upside down pun –  as a young daring surgeon in Yong Pal. Medical drama with some suspense, crime and romance? I’m strapping in for the ride!
image

1. Yong Pal
In this drama Joo Won is all business, playing an ace young surgeon with money on his mind. And he doesn’t try to hide it.

Just don’t be fooled by his cut-throat persona. He might be single-minded about getting those paper bills, but he’s not the anti-hero he plays to be. There is so much more to him than meets the eye.
image

You can tell a lot of effort is put into the whirlpool of drama that is Yong Pal. The plot might be thinly spread, but you’ll be drawn in by the charismatic Joo Won playing Kim Tae Hyun.

He’s definitely that cute, adorable lead actor who adds vivacity to any given role. He played a doctor once before and let’s just say, he gets better with practice.
image

Joo Won shows a whole lot of emotional range in this drama. Well done you.

2. Twenty Again
For me a drama is mostly about the ‘vibe’ and Twenty Again definitely gives off that entrancing aura. It’s one drama I can’t wait to sink my teeth into this September!

Kdramas might always follow a certain trend such as cheesy chaebols and bumbling cops, but once in a while you find a gem in the dust. Something tells me that Twenty Again just might surprise me with its dramatic ups and downs.

What I like about this drama? For one, it’s the leads! Actor Lee Sang Yoon is a solid fave after his role in Angel Eyes. He makes the best kind of chemistry with his co-star so this is definitely worth more than a look-see from me.

Also titled ‘Second Time Twenty Years Old’ this is a coming of age drama in reverse. Our heroine Ha No-Ra is hella grown, and not just married but also a mother since she was 19. Now her life is taking a dramatic turn and she decides it’s not too late to make something of what time she has left.
image
Aww don’t be so down on yourself. Life happens to even the best of us…

Too bad she doesn’t even have her husband or son to cheer her on. Looks like the only one who could possibly be on her side is one of her professors – who just happens to be a former high school mate Cha Hyun-Suk.
image
image
image

Scruffy professor alert! Lee Sang Yoon has so much feels potential, it’s ridiculous.

Only, he turns out to be one to constantly pick on her so no help there.

What can I say, I’m a sucker for a gutsy female lead and a hero who’s hot even though he looks like he’s got bed hair all the time. Call me shallow, but sometimes I really don’t want much, just a fun drama with zero mental effort required to simply sit back and relish.
image
image
image
image

College is harrowing enough to a teenager, much less a woman in her prime but that’s the beauty of this drama!

3. She Was Pretty
You’ve got to love these Kdrama titles. She was Pretty sounds good and looks good, premise-wise. We have a male lead who rose from outcast to hottie, while the female lead is the exact opposite. She was once rich, in demand and glamorous but now, not so much.
wpid-shewaspretty17.jpg

I’ll be checking this out to also satisfy my curiosity. Both leads showed great chemistry as ‘siblings’ in their last drama together (Kill Me Heal Me). However I think Hwang Jung Eum is a very overpowering heroine who works better with a more imposing hero.

Still, I loved Park Seo Joon as a second lead in KMHM so I’m hoping he aces as a male lead in She Was Pretty, which airs from September 16.
image

Highly Anticipated: Sageuk Sensation ‘Master of Trade – Inn 2015’
They do say when one door closes, another opens and that’s soo the case here. Fans of historical drama will be glad to know that once Scholar Who Walks the Night ends its run, another Sageuk is all lined up!

Jang Hyuk is only like, the second actor I go nuts over in sageuks. Like Lee Joon Gi he slays in those ancient costumes and roles. Master of Trade Inn looks tailor made for a master of sageuk like Jang Hyuk.
image
Yeah I’ll be laughing too, if I always got lucky to land the best macho roles out there

This September we have doctors, magazine editors, professors and now, merchants! In ‘Master of Trade – Inn 2015’ Jang Hyuk plays an Innkeeper with the smarts to make his way up the commercial ladder in Joseon times.
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

This drama boasts a massive cast as most sprawling sageuks do. I’m looking forward to the money intrigue, and watching our hero cleverly outwit his rivals.

It’s always nice to have a meaty period drama to balance out the romcom and action series. No doubt September holds up just enough to fly by fast, thanks to these promising dramas. You’ll definitely be having no complaints from me!
image

Yee-haa!! Come September 23 we’ll once more be thrown back in the merry times of troubled Joseon, land where only the toughest, baddest survive.

15 thoughts on “September 2015: Top 3 Dramas I’m Watching

  1. Yong Pal… The no1 drama I look forward to every week. Great drama, greater ratings.

    Gearing up for Jang Hyuk’s upcoming Sageuk, I’m watching Chuno to get into the spirit. Lol

    I also follow Virtual Bride, just for the laughs. Then I Have a Lover which is pretty much intense and angsty.

    Like

  2. I have to agree on Yong Pal! Marathoning it right now. Joo Won’s character is very well written, and he’s doing it utmost justice.

    You’ll love Jang Hyuk in Chuno! Glad to know you’re checking it out – I had fun with it.

    Virtual Bride would have been my number 3 drama – instead I chose to hold out for She Was Pretty. So for now, only watching 2 dramas in September, Yong Pal and Twenty Again, until She Was Pretty and Innkeeper 2015 starts up. Hurray, September rocks! lol

    Like

  3. @Atk, I just looked up I Have a Lover…starring Ji Jin Hee I see. I remember the previews while The Time We were Not in Love was showing…you say it’s intense: I can do intense, lol. I’ll check it out since I need some angsty-ness in my life right now – September’s looking somewhat tame for me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Warning: It’s going to be 50 episodes. 😀 I was on board immediately I saw Ji Jin Hee and Kim Hyun Joo. Plus the trailer was a killer.
    Amnesia, dual role, husband/’mistress’, family coup… good stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 50 episodes!? Whoa. Thanks for the heads-up. And the mistress thing…eww, no. LOL. I just saw a teaser at the end of an episode of Yong Pal…looks intense indeed. maybe I’ll just stick to reading recaps – if I find any 😉

    Like

  6. I Have a Lover comes from a peculiar writer whose way of portraying romance is unique and a bit unusual for standard kdramas. I’ve watched 4 works of hers and the bottom line is always about family relationships. I’m letting the story to unfold for a month or so before starting this one (even though I really like both the story and the OTP) basically because I fear what SBS might do to the plot due to its low ratings, – at least, for now.

    Last and Assembly are two excellent dramas on every level. Too bad the stories can’t get through to wider audiences. Not typical korean, more universal in terms of interactions between the cast.. I have Yoona’s Street’s vibes again and even though my mind can’t completely relax and enjoy as I’m used to other genres, I find these two refreshing and ultimately true.

    She Was Pretty may be our (last?) chance to a decent comedy in a major network, after the zero rom-coms in Big-3 these days *fingers crossed for good ratings, hence less plot craziness*

    I haven’t seen Yong-Pal this week. Episodes 7 and 8 were as if someone had tortured the writer for more romance between the two mega-stars. I presume they have to put them on screen together since they cast them but they should have done it more wisely than this , tbh. I won’t get presumptuous like most of viewers in blogs who are either furious or disappointed. The writer has given us Reset and if that was not dark and disturbing I wonder what is. But one’s writing for OCN is different from writing for SBS and this particular cast on top of everything else. Nevertheless, audiences have clearly stated that they prefer the “dark” Yong-Pal to the “love-struck” one. We should wait and see, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome insight! I just finished ep. 7 & 8 of Yong Pal and your views are on point! The storyline went cheesy pretty fast with the romance. Still the drama is redeemable, we hope!

      Last and Assembly : I find your opinion helpful, though I’m not sure I’d start on these two any time soon. I can basically watch anything, irrespective of the popularity or ratings. Beautiful Bride was one drama most overlooked but it’s been one of my faves of the year. But for now with Last especially, I wish I had more drive to check it out. If I keep hearing good things though, maybe sometime soon I’ll start on it.

      Never dreamed I’d ever watch I Remember You /Hello Monster but to my surprise, tried ep. 1 and I’m interested in finding out more! So I guess, never say never lol!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. One more thing, about I Have a Lover… Judging from your comment as to the writer being known for unique romance plots, I guess she must have a positive following. I for one don’t know if I can handle 50 episodes of a storyline I’m not so comfortable with, such as a cheating spouse! But if the drama is good it will definitely get some recognition which is what counts most!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A 50-episode drama in SBS? At the weekend? Up against Jang Bo-ri’s writer? I don’t expect much, tbh. Ratings are already poor and when I wrote “peculiar”, I did mean it. Not intense romances, just consequences on families. Romance is just the canvas for bigger issues. If you haven’t watched Scandal, the writer’s previous drama, you should check that out even briefly, to get the picture.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad you have been having a spectacular time with dramas my viewing choices have not pleased me quite so much. I wandered away from my currently lack-luster universe of sageuk into the world of Modern k-dramas and with the exception of Heard It Through The Grapevine I have been seriously disappointed. High Society started out well and then went down the drain pretty spectacularly while my favourite actress Ha Ji Won must have picked the slowest drama ever in the form of The Time I’ve loved you. I endured for her sake 🙂 but honestly it was a trial. I am definitely hoping that Jang Hyuk’s new drama will not disappoint.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. If they throw in some decent romance in Jang Hyuk’s Innkeeper 2015 drama then I’ll be sold! The Time I’ve Loved You strangely grew on me, maybe because I wanted to like it so bad! In the end I’d say I enjoyed the journey. The two main leads made it worthwhile.

    I too have a major love for sageuks but the offerings of late have been lacking. Which is why I’ve begun to seriously support the contemporary dramas. But don’t think it’s been all happy days for me in the world of Kdramas lately. My watching has drastically declined, hence I’m following only 2-3 dramas this month. Like you said, hoping on Jang Hyuk to turn things around!

    Like

  9. I think She Was Pretty looks hilarious. I’m also excited to watch D-Day since I’m a big fan of disaster movies. I’m keeping an eye on how things go with Twenty Again. I’ll also have to see how things go with Inn 2015 before I consider it. I loved Shine or Go Crazy and adore Jang Hyuk, but with a higher episode count, I’ll have to see how it goes.

    Like

    1. Another 50-episode drama that looks promising is My Daughter Geum Sa-Wol. Episode one just aired and it stars Baek Jin-hee from Empress Ki. D-Day looks good too. So many dramas right now that are take-it-or-leave-it. When just recently, I was watching at least half of the ongoing dramas. I’ve slowed down, and it looks like everyone else has too, judging by the ‘see how it goes’ I keep getting in the comments (mine included) lol.

      Like

  10. @hariaharia, I think it might be because of ratings that SBS decided to go with a 50episode drama. The other 2 networks have 50 episodes in that time slot, and I guess that has more following.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SBS has tried EVERYTHING for their weekend dramas, Nothing seems to work in terms of ratings, although most of them were perfectly fine. They have already cancelled the early evening time slot and are struggling through the late one, too. That is why I think the length of the projects is not an issue; they can very well shorten any drama any time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

