The Merchant: Gaekju 2015 – Introductory Review

image

The boss (Chun’s Gaekju/head merchant) and his deputy in happier times…

Money they say is the root of all evil, and such is what embodies this intricate sageuk drama from the start.

A taste of greed, a sting of betrayal, lashings of agony and bouts of laughter…The Merchant – Gaekju 2015 displays it all, and just in its first few episodes.

image

I never expected to be this shocked, or moved.

A thriving trading company is brought to its knees, where everyone either gets killed, sold into forced labor, escapes, or is lost.

image
image
image

Merchants of yester-years (the Joseon period, to be exact) went through hell and high-water, literally, just to make that sale.

We see a young carefree boy who turns bitter after his father is made to drink poison for a crime. In turn, the young boy takes his first step into revenge, that dangerous weapon which hurts both the target and the avenger.

We see a brother and sister, separated not only by place but also time, as ten years pass since they last met.

But most of all, we see a world of bloodthirsty business masterminds, men too evil to be believed. It’s incredible how low they can sink for that next profit.

In their bid to outdo one another, they care little about whose life is lost, or whose blood spilled. It’s all about the money. Nothing else counts.

image

The young Bong Sam before he was abandoned by the only people he had left from his past life.

Chun Bong Sam is our young hero, who lost all his family and all he held dear. Now all he wants is to find his lost sister.

To do that, he must become a merchant. For one who had wanted nothing to do with his father’s line of work, Bong Sam grows into a very determined business trainee indeed.

image

Bong Sam all grown up…living it up at theΒ  Academy for aspiring merchants. Glad he grew to be a happy-go-lucky lad.

At first glance, grown up Bong Sam seems carefree and even comical. Life is all one big ball of fun times to him, right?

But when in episode 4, he runs into a duo of cowhide merchants from his past, we see Bong Sam has a surprising side to him. The one who never forgot where and from what he came from.

image
image
image

So far, I’m impressed with how well portrayed the drama is.

Those who are bad are very bad (such as the cut-throat head merchant, and the other devious minions) – and some turn from bad to good (such as the cowhide black market traders). While some turn from good to really bad (such as Gil So-Gae, son of Chun’s Gaekju’s slain deputy).
image

Scarred for life…once personable So Gae becomes twisted by his thirst for vengeance

I’m touched by the humanity of many of the characters. Nobody’s perfect, and in this line of work, you can’t be caught slipping or you’d be liable to lose a neck.

image

You’ll love watching this scenario unfold in episode 4, with the best counter-rip-off I’ve seen in a long while!

How does Bong Sam find a foothold in this shaky environment where nothing is guaranteed?

You’re never sure who’s about to topple you from the top spot. And that great prize in your hand, can easily tumble into the laps of someone just that bit smarter, or less scrupulous, than you.

The Merchant: Gaekju 2015 is a feast that isn’t so easy to swallow, if you’re the faint of heart.

You’ll shake your fist at the injustices, you’ll cry, you’ll possibly scream. Yes, you’ll feel every emotion the characters are displaying, because they are that good.

image
image
image

Now that it’s 10 years since the moment we first meet the main game players, I’m more than on edge to discover how the story will choose to evolve.

My recommendation, is that if you aren’t on board with this drama, now’s the best time to start. Only a quarter into its run (now at 8 episodes out of the billed 36) there’s more than enough to sharpen your appetite.

image
From a fangirl’s perspective, I’ll say Jang Hyuk’s acting…and everything else, is as captivating as ever.

Jang Hyuk is in top form here (in more ways than one, I might add) and he brings even more life to a thoroughly vibrant and compelling drama.

I can’t wait to see more of him as the story gains momentum, and hopefully your interest has been just as whetted! So what are you waiting for?

image

14 thoughts on “The Merchant: Gaekju 2015 – Introductory Review

  1. What a great review and I just love the screen capture you closed with πŸ™‚ I’m addicted to Gaekju now even though at the beginning I felt it was too much for me to handle, emotions were high and I was feeling overwhelmed but now I want more more more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the review! The Merchant was really intense the first 4 episodes! Now about to jump into eps. 5-8. Like you said, the emotions are really hard to take at first, especially with characters I got to like. Can’t wait to catch up! And thanks for the support πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I would say episodes 5-8 built up the plot really well, there are so many questions to answer now – between Bong Sam and his sister reuniting, Bong Sam and So Lyn’s loveline, Man Chi and Sang Joon’s animosity , So Rye and her revenge plot,.. and Bong Sam hasn’t even met his arch enemy So Gae and the female lead yet! Things are going to get pretty interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still on episode 5! I almost had tears when Bong Sam and the cowhide merchant were talking about Bong Sam’s dad. I can’t wait to get to the part about Bong Sam’s love line…Jang Hyuk is so good with his female co-stars!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a really nice introductory review, and I’m glad that I’m on board with this drama.

    Did you say 36 episodes? Omo! I didn’t see that coming. All I saw was Jang Hyuk, his trademark laughter, and I jumped on board.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do confirm that it’s 36 eps. I really, really like this! It’s not trying to be sleek or overly grand. Remembering that the first reading took 13 hours (!!!) and now watching, I finally understand the dedication. Thanks for reading Atk, and I hope you keep watching!! #JangHyukrocks πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. O man, I actually watched only ep 2 without subs while my dad was in town, and it seemed pretty intense (and no Jang Hyuk yet). I was pretty on the fence about this show (especially at 36 eps!! :O) but now I’m re-intrigued πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I checked out ep. 9 earlier today – without subs – that’s how into the series I am! I think, maybe you should definitely try to pick it up again. I mean, it’s these two words: Jang Hyuk. Enough reason to stick to this show if you ask me!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

