Oh My Venus Week One Review

image

It feels good to be excited about a new drama again! Episode one and two of Oh My Venus gave me all sorts of good vibes.

Great, steady pacing, hot leads, smooth delivery and rich dialogue makes this a drama I want to see do well.

image

Not to point fingers, but She Was Pretty which had almost the same theme, lacked a bit of impact in the first few episodes.

In Oh My Venus, Shin Min-A makes a far more relatable pretty-to-ugly character than Hwang Jung Eum in She Was Pretty.

image

Kang Joo-Eun (Shin Min-A) may have piled on the pounds since her high school heyday, but even as an overweight, newly dumped, stressed out lawyer, you still see her awesome spirit shining through.

I’m glad to see the heroine is one I find engrossing from the onset.

image

As for the leading man, don’t even get me started.

So Ji Sub needs no intro or dissection. He’d make the most hardened non-fangirl yell ‘oppa!!’ and run around screaming just with a glimpse of that gorgeous half-smile and piercing, steadfast gaze.

In short, Oh My Venus showed a lot of dynamism in its first two hours than some dramas manage in ten. Two thumbs waaay up for that!

 

image
image
image
image

Oh my Venus takes us back to a few of our favorite romance k-dramas. A bit of Fated to Love You, Birth of a Beauty, even some Time We Were Not in Love and yes, She Was Pretty.

We have the rejected ugly duckling, one knight in shining armor, the cad of an ex-boyfriend, and the ever-handy arm candy aka ‘other woman’ to play rival to our struggling heroine.

If all this is not enough ingredients to make a worthwhile little shindig, then I don’t know what will.

image

Maybe I’m just biased. So Ji Sub is one of my top 3 best actors, next only to Lee Joon Gi and Jung Woo Sung. I mean these are actors I can watch in virtually anything. 

So imagine my glee to discover that in two hours of viewing So Ji Sub as Kim Young-Ho in Oh My Venus, I never had a single dull moment.

image

He makes being a leading man seem inbred, and seamless.

He’s one of the few actors who can still manage to hold your interest even when he’s  just standing still with barely a facial expression.

That impassive, yet stimulating persona is totally his forte and no other actor pulls it like him.

image
image

It’s a chaebol…it’s a mystery fitness guru…wait, just what does So Ji Sub play in this?

Not that I care. It’s enough to see him on the small screen after so long. But it’s fun trying to figure out just what this drama wants us to make of him.

image

Is he a playboy, or a reclusive celebrity or maybe, an unwilling successor who’d rather run the other way than endure his grandmother’s matchmaking?

image

Like I said, it’s going to be interesting working it all out. I’m just relieved that the first week showed me this drama was worth the wait.

I love the cast, and the storyline isn’t too far-fetched and even if…it’s the kind of far-fetched I like to see once in a while.

image
image
image

So what if Kim Young-Ho (So Ji Sub) happens to rescue our leading damsel a few too many times? (he always seems to be in the right place at the right time to pull her out of a jam)…I still love the flow of the drama episode to episode.

If it speeds up later, all well and good. But left to me, I think the first and second episodes of Oh My Venus flew by too fast!

image

What? Episode 2 over already? Gimme more!

I definitely recommend this k-drama based on just the first two episodes. It’s not trying too hard, and the two main leads are showing their experience and maturity in the best way.

I’m looking forward to a drama with a message, but one that lets you have fun and giggles on the way.

Considering I was already won over even before the drama started, I’m pleasantly surprised it’s this wholesome and fresh despite the overdone theme. I see so much potential.

image

If you haven’t started Oh My Venus yet and need some motivation to even watch episode one, then think: So Ji Sub…in a bathtub.

This drama has thusly, provided the no. 1 brooding bath scene of 2015. What more could one possibly ask!?

image

12 thoughts on “Oh My Venus Week One Review

  1. I wasn’t really interested from the beginning and hadn’t had high expectations but I was pleasantly surprised from the two episodes. I liked the chemistry of our main couple and even though I’m not invested in the back stories like So Ji Sub’s character family history I did find the episodes quite fast paced. So I’m definitely waiting for the next ones..
    Ps.. So Ji Sub in a bathtub… Yeap we want nothing more really!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The chemistry of the main couple is hot! Even the three friends : trainer, manager and UfC fighter guys have the best chemistry too. I really like this show!! Watching episode 3 now and there’s definitely a bathtub scene with the 3 friends in it haha…:) I hope that’s not a spoiler!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha another bath scene already?? They’re spoiling us that’s for sure!
        The chaemistry is gonna be great, really excited to see how the story progresses. Hopefully I’m gonna be able to catch up with the drama within the next days.. 🙂

        Like

      2. I think you’ll like how the story is developing. It’s definitely growing in depth. Hope you catch up soon, episode 3 is awesome! Oh and the bath scene… Well I’ll wait till u get to check it out heh heh **wink*

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

