Jackpot Kdrama Introductory Review

image

It’s messed up how slow I was to pick up this dazzling drama! I’d catch up if I were you, because Jackpot promises excitement galore.

Jackpot aka Daebak aka The Royal Gambler is one sageuk you can’t put in a nutshell. It’s a whole lot of things to a whole lot of people. And a whole lot of gambling too – which is mostly the point really.

This historical drama is about high stakes at every turn and in almost every scene. Everyone fancies themselves much of wagerer, from the nation’s king,  to the lowliest, down-on-his-luck noble. I like that no one is afraid to take risks in this drama. Whether it’s worth it, is what I’ll be hungry to find out.

image

We don’t get to see our young, impressionable hero till much later, but his life embodies the whole theme of strife and danger this drama is based on.

Humble beginnings

Jackpot starts out like a love story. Downtrodden wife married to a gambler noble with nothing but his name left to boast of. Soon, he loses that too. Even worse, is how he ends up losing his wife and son in a blink of an eye. And you wouldn’t even believe whom he has to contend with as his rival. No one less than the king, because why not?

What’s even worse, is that for most of the first four episodes, it seems like a lone schemer is setting the whole thing up. Who is this evil, calculating mastermind and what’s his motivation?

image

image

image

One man, three lives…Which brings us to Lee In-Jwa who manipulates just about anyone simply so he can reach his grandiose endgame.

He’s totally the baddie in this series, but I’m so glad there’s one person who just might one-up him each and every time: again, the king.

image

The eyes of a sinister genius…Noone is safe from his evil machinations. Is there really no way to stop him?

Jackpot develops steadily through its first four episodes. We have a view into the palace life and all its royal intrigues.

On the flip side is the outside world, where a bored prince seeks entertainment in drinking by day, and gambling/philandering by night. Talk about living cushy.

image

King Sookjong (played by Choi Min-soo) keeps you guessing just what goes on in his head. He’s certainly not as clueless as he first lets on.

Since we still have 20 episodes to go, there’s plenty of time for the young players to grow on us, and grow into their characters.

A tale of two royal brothers

One brother, Dae Gil/Gae-dong had the misfortune of being born in circumstances that made his birthright questionable. So he gets to live a simple, almost nameless life as the son of a retired gambling pro. At the same time, his royal ‘half-brother’ holds his shaky place as a second prince.

I can’t decide which one has the worse of it, considering neither of the brothers seem to be having fun with their lot.

image

image

The Prince and the Pauper…Baek Dae-gil and (later) King Yeongjo – brothers with compelling personalities, dreams and destinies. Picked a side yet?

I’ll be following Jackpot avidly, mostly because it’s been a while since my last sageuk. And this drama gives me a lot to sink my teeth into. Interesting characters, some even awe-inspiring (Choi Min-soo kills it every time, and his role as King might be his best yet.) And of course Jeon Kwang-Leol who plays arch villain Lee In-Jwa.

image

This scene. I’m just. I can’t. You need to be watching this drama, if you aren’t already.

Like I said, you can’t simply put Jackpot in one kind of box. Yes, it’s much about gambling, and rivalry for the throne, a lover’s heart, or something. Always something with this drama – and that’s the whole fun. You never know what to expect.

image

What’s a drama without a pretty damsel for our hero to lose his mind over? Dam-Seo is our eye-catching heroine with a surprising ancestry.

If you want entertainment, and some sleek if not exactly masterful storytelling, then start watching Jackpot. It just might have a surprise gambit up its sleeve!

image

image

image

Lee In-Jwa using a child as target practice in this chilling scene…Not sure how he could possibly top that in future episodes, but who knows?

8 thoughts on “Jackpot Kdrama Introductory Review

  1. I absolutely can’t wait to check this out! I have been excited since the first casting news, and my anticipation has only grown with each bit of new information. I will wait until at least half of it has aired, but it is at the top of my must watch list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is good so far and I hope it stays consistent throughout it’s run. Most Sageuks generally start out with so much high energy only to begin lagging towards the middle as the PDs begin to fan service the script.I hope this will not be the fate of Jackpot. However I must mention the actress playing Dam Seo,she was lovely in SFD but she is rather poor here. She has the emotional range of a freezer and she might be the reason I drop this drama if she gets to much screen time.

    Like

    1. I wish the best for the drama too! 50 episodes is not a fun thing to waste. Lim Ji-Yeon (Dam-Seo) is ok to me though, considering she plays the part of a troubled pawn out for revenge. I hope she lets Dae Gil lighten her up in time!

      Like

  3. Apparently the Korean audience are also not too impressed with her as someone reported in the comments section of Dramabeans and I do not blame them, She was driven by both revenge and love in the Six Flying Dragons and she executed her role well but here…. I just don’t know. Do we blame the writer,the actress,the director or her portion of the script? Either way I sure hope she puts up a stronger performance in future,after all she is working with powerhouse actors Choi Min Soo and Jeon Kwang Leol. Her acting chops have to match up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about her acting in this drama, and I just thought it went ok with the character she is playing. I’m guessing who her father is/was, and how she’s been groomed by In-Jwa from an early age, that she’s turned into some kind of shell. But while she was teaching the other girls archery, she seemed really chill, smiling etc. So I really had no issue with her at all. Many sageuk dramas have that pretty, seemingly aloof and unattainable female character (in Warrior Baek Dong soo for example, the Shin Hyun-bin character played by Yoo Jin-sun was criticized for the same reason I think.) I really am not that invested in the Dam-seo character yet, which is maybe why I don’t notice any lapses in her performance. Having too much fun ogling my ahjusshi crush Choi Min soo 🙂

      Like

  4. I really loved the plot… i have become fan, it really shows how people react with power and who the real king is. The moral depicted is great. We could learn from this. I love jackpot:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

